Adverb: library-lovin’

November 10, 2007 at 3:18 am 2 comments

I love the library.

I love books and reading, but it might be true that I enjoy the library just a tad bit more. Just a tad.

You see, I grew up in the library. My parents, both readers, writers and natural researchers who recognize a true gem when they see one, frequently took my brother and me to the library, where we lost ourselves in wandering, reading, socializing, and schoolwork.

For as long as I can remember, the free public library has been my stomping ground. I cut my teeth on picture books and books on cassette (remember those?) I participated in summer reading clubs, after school activities, and the general hushed, but not too hushed, horsing around that preteens do when left to their own devices. At thirteen, I scored a job at my local branch. I worked as a “page” in the children’s department, shelving books, assisting the librarian and children’s department staff, and getting into the strange varieties of trouble that only a kid with co-workers twenty years her senior can.

When, I graduated high school and left for college, I took my library-lovin’ ways with me. I think I was at college less than two weeks when I a new friend invited me to scout out the Boston Public Library central branch. Enormous! Amazing! And the stone lions of the McKim Building with their huge, soft looking paws carved from stone? Beautiful.

So you see, I have this thing for libraries. They are home. Not just my local library. I particularly enjoy fresh, new libraries. New to world (i.e. refurbished, redesigned, rebuilt) or just new to me, it doesn’t matter. When I was a kid, my family often bounced between libraries in our area, sometimes for a change of scenery, and sometimes to locate items our local library couldn’t provide. As this activity still fascinates me, I’ve decided that, what I’d really like to do, is go on a tour. A random, sporadic, not-at-all well planned country-wide tour.

Please join me. I’ll be blogging the spoils of my adventures …photos, descriptions, ratings, and my opinions of the whole gamut of experiences one can have at the free public library -the good, the bad, the grumpy, and the smelly. You’ll find it here!

Welcome.

Entry filed under: Boston, Learning to blog. Tags: .

Honan-Allston

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Letter Love « Whole Heart Local  |  March 23, 2012 at 3:21 pm

    […] enormous¬†appreciation for libraries. ¬†But have I mentioned that, running nearly parallel with my library-love is an undying adoration for MAIL and letters? ¬†(Notice the struggle to contain my excitement; […]

    Reply
  • […] friend, knowing me to be of the library-lovin’ sort, introduced me to the concept of a Little Free Library. Naturally, I was smitten. Library, […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


In which a library-lovin' lady tours free public libraries.

What I’m Reading

Widget_logo

Flickr Photos

More Photos

