Cardinals for the win

December 6, 2007 at 12:43 am 2 comments




bpl birds close-up

Originally uploaded by Phobean

The central branch of the Boston Public Library is by far my most visited library in the city (next is probably the Allston branch, then Brookline’s central branch.) Partially because it’s a gorgeous library and I’ve written over 70% of my to-be-published young adult novel there, and partially because there’s always something strange going on for which I never get an explanation. The BPL is, to me, a great mystery.

Take for instance, the little bird in the above picture. One day, an entire flock of these ceramic birds appeared atop the molding in Bates Hall. I haven’t a clue why. Don’t quote me on this, but I’m pretty sure they disappeared again shortly after.

Another example is the leather chairs. Once I walked into the mural room next to Bates Hall and it was full of gorgeous, comfortable looking leather chairs. No explanation. I thought, “Hot dog!” Comfortable chairs. I was so excited. And then they disappeared. Not a trace. I didn’t see them for months. I had a hunch they’d show up again, though, and they did. Now they’ve been placed in different locations around the library. I sit in them on special occasion.

Yet another example is the time I walked by to see not one, but two trumpeters standing on the steps outside the McKim building. A red carpet had been rolled down the steps to signify some sort of official event. As very finely dressed people (attending a wedding perhaps) walked up the steps, the trumpets sounded out a royal sounding tune. Every single time someone approached the door. I was mystified. I stood in the rain, seven o’clock some chilly evening, and stared for maybe ten minutes.

I think, in the future, I would like trumpeters to follow ME around, playing a tune to announce me every time I step into a library. That would be grand.

Entry filed under: Boston. Tags: .

Getting some work done at Cambridge Library We’re changing –for you!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Erin  |  December 8, 2007 at 6:06 am

    Truly a queen’s entrance.

    Reply
  • […] a year later, such a library appeared five minutes from my house. So, in addition to the amazing Boston Public and Minuteman Library systems, I’ve a hyper-local option that draws my eye each time I wander […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


In which a library-lovin' lady tours free public libraries.

What I’m Reading

Widget_logo

Flickr Photos


