Somerville Library, I’ve got my eye on you

March 7, 2008 at 12:04 am 2 comments

This past week, I was bumming around Somerville, waiting to pick up a book by way of freecycle.  The other freecycler and I planned to meet at the Bloc 11, a cafe on Bow Street that I’d never been to.  It’s a very cute place, cleverly designed, and near the back is a community bulletin board.

Well, I’m a big fan of bulletin boards, so I walked on back there to take a gander.  I noticed a brochure titled “So Fine A Prospect,” which turned out to be a walking tour of Prospect Hill and Union Square in Somerville, MA.  First on the list is the Somerville Central Library, located on Highland Avenue.  I’ve never been, in fact, I hadn’t even thought to go!  I don’t know how I missed the fact that Somerville has it’s own library system.  I guess I thought it was partnered with Cambridge or some other nearby town. While I was pondering this, I checked out other things on the board and bumped into this business card:

Somerville Library Business Card

Interesting! Somerville Library on myspace.  Guess I’ll have to check that out.

Entry filed under: Boston. Tags: .

A come back Making out at NYPL

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ellen  |  May 6, 2008 at 3:41 pm

    Thanks for blogging about us. If you haven’t visited yet (or even if you have) this weekend would be a great time to stop by – it’s the Friends of the Somerville Public Library Book and Bake Sale – lots of fun, great deals on books, music, & movies, and the chance to support the Library!

    Reply
  • 2. Jolene  |  June 24, 2008 at 6:22 am

    did you ever go, phoebe? i used to live right around the corner and it was one of my *favorite* spots!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


In which a library-lovin' lady tours free public libraries.

What I’m Reading

Widget_logo

Flickr Photos


