Rumford Public Library, ME

November 14, 2008 at 9:58 pm Leave a comment

For the past several years, I have vacationed in Maine with my partner and many good friends.  We swim in a pond speckled with many yellow rafts, play board games, and take turns cooking for each other.  What we don’t usually do is visit the library.  This past summer, I felt it was time for a change.  Enter: Rumford Public Library.

Not surprisingly, the Rumford Public Library is situated in an older building in downtown Rumford.  They offer a sizable magazine collection, including Maine-specific Portland Magazine and one called the Small Farmer’s Journal.  Four computers with net access were available for public use, and all four had a person typing away.

I was particularly pleased to find the Dewey Decimal system in use at this library, as that was the system I learned on when I was in grade school, and then continued to use throughout my teen years when I worked as a “page” at my town library.  I have most of the call numbers memorized.  (Want to test me?  Biography?  920.  Reproductive health.  612.6!  Stars?  …Somewhere in the 300s, I think.)

Some other aspects that stood out were the free home schooling magazines/catalogues and the small but well stocked graphic novel section, which included graphic novel biographies of Malcolm X and Ronald Regan (a curious combo), both by Andrew Helfer.

The children’s section of Rumford Library was down in the basement, near a conference room, a stove-less kitchen, and a water fountain painted like a jungle.  Although there wasn’t an obvious YA or middle grade section, a quick glance around showed shelves short enough for even the smallest children to reach, and offerings included a large board book collection, many books on tape, and a large bin of oversized picture books.  I was impressed and somewhat surprised to note that, despite (or perhaps due to) the town’s demographics, there were many books featuring African Americans on display, including “Moses: When Harriet Tubman Led Her People to Freedom”, a picture book by Carole Boston Weatherford, gorgeously illustrated by Kadir Nelson and “We Are the Ship: The Story of Negro League Baseball,” also Kadir Nelson.

Last stop on our little library tour was an alternate entrance to the children’s department, faithfully guarded by two very old looking sheep stools/chairs.  I imagine they have been sat upon by many hundreds of young library-lovers.

Entry filed under: New England.

In the address book you go! Cool…New library for my list

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


In which a library-lovin' lady tours free public libraries.

What I’m Reading

Widget_logo

Flickr Photos


