How I Write This Blog

January 2, 2010 at 8:47 pm 1 comment

Very slowly.

This morning, I reviewed last year’s New Year resolutions and remarked to my partner David my disappointment with the outcome. He, of course, shot back that I seem to have done very well. I completed most of the goals on my list in some fashion, if not exactly as I had written them. It’s true.  The way I saw it: I had completed goals in some fashion, not exactly as I hoped.  Two sides of the same coin, huh?

One of my resolutions from last year was to update this blog, which I did, but not to my satisfaction.  Not as often as I’d have liked.  Part of the issue, I think, is my tendency towards perfection.  And, as they say, the perfect is often the enemy of the good.

Here are the steps I take to write a blog post:

  • Visit a library and take photos
  • Edit photos
  • Upload photos to my Flickr account
  • Think of an enticing catch to grab readers
  • Write two to three drafts of each post
  • Update blog and fidget with photo placement

Not a ton of steps, but enough to slow me down, particularly when we don’t have Internet access in our apartment and our personal computers are all circa 2000.

Still, I have high hopes for this blog, and so I get begin again.  Hello 2010.  Hope to see you ‘round these parts more often.

Librarytour blog goals for 2010

  • Learn to write shorter posts
  • Tour my nearby branches of the BPL and Brookline libraries
  • Post once per month in 2010
  • Create a photo banner to give the blog a more personalized feel
  • Convince my mother to guest post
Entry filed under: Learning to blog. Tags: .

Stalking Cambridge Public Library Trying NOT to go to the library

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Josie  |  January 4, 2010 at 11:01 pm

    Things don’t usually go “as we hoped”….I think goals and resolutions are a great framework, but the nature of life is one that is breathing and changing, so our goals need to change with it.

    That being said, if you post too your blog, I will read it! So go forth and be fabulous! No need for self-abuse. A short, once a month post that has been once-vered for spelling and grammar errors is really fine.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


In which a library-lovin' lady tours free public libraries.

What I’m Reading

Widget_logo

Flickr Photos

More Photos

