Honan-Allston

November 21, 2007 at 2:00 am 2 comments

One of my favorite libraries, in terms of design, is Boston’s Honan-Allston. I first explored this branch when my parents were in town and we had nothing much to occupy us. Of course we visited the newest edition to Boston’s collection of branch libraries! Honan-Allston, simple modern with tree-filled courtyard, is like a one-room school revisited, intimate, cozy, and never overwhelming. It’s impossible to get lost in any literal sense in a one-room school. Later, when I visited again on my own, I took these photos of the ceiling.

The ceiling has good lines, I think. I find it visually intriguing -the way the lights mimic those holes above the beams.  I don’t know what the holes do, perhaps they are vents?  They look like they might be windows for birds to peer out of…

allston-library-ceiling-2.jpg

Entry filed under: Boston. Tags: .

Adverb: library-lovin’ A Curious Addition

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Erin  |  December 8, 2007 at 5:55 am

    I am so glad that you started off with my favorite and most local, the Honan-Allston. Another added bonus to this fabulous library (forgive me if I have told you this before) is the mascot. In the spring and summer of 2005, I frequented the courtyard to read and have peace from my crowded house of crazy roommates. A flying squirrel lived there that summer too. Sarah the librarian and I christened him Harry, as I was reading Harry Potter at the time. He was very tame, and actually climbed up on to my lap to sit with me while I read. He was obviously an escaped pet or something, for he was quite loving for a squirrel. A lot of people left him food– breadcrumbs, popcorn, etc. We worried about him when fall came and it started getting cold. I contemplated taking him in, but thought my cat would make short work of him. He hasn’t been seen since that summer, but I often wonder what happened to him. I hope he found a home with a lot of books.

    Reply
  • 2. Library + Park = Faint Worthy « Librarytour’s Weblog  |  August 2, 2011 at 3:13 pm

    […] brakes, anyone?) so we took his vehicle to the J & P Garage off Harvard Street, beside the Honan-Allston library.  We paid a lot for those repairs, but we also gained a little something standing in the dirt of […]

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


In which a library-lovin' lady tours free public libraries.

What I’m Reading

Widget_logo

Flickr Photos